Chipotle Chicken Chowder

This is one of three meals that I can think of that when I make it my husband goes into a twilight zone where only he and his food exist for next 20 minutes. If you know my husband, you know he’ll eat anything, but like me, he appreciates good food. He grew up in an Italian family eating his grandmothers home cooked meals. And I grew up dreaming of being in an Italian family eating home cooked meals. It’s one thing we bonded over the first night we met. Our love of food and our hatred for dancing. Match made in heaven. Having tasted his grandmothers food, I feel like I can really pat myself on the back if I can make a meal that wows my husband, and you guys, this one is at the top of the list of meals I’ve made that does that. This soup is so rich and creamy and flavorful. You really need to try it on your next soup day! If you need me, I’ll be under my heated blanket licking my bowl clean.

chipotle-chicken-chowder

Ingredients:

• 1 medium yellow onion
• 1 red bell pepper
• 1 finger pepper (or whatever spicy pepper you choose. Normally I would have used serrano or jalapeno peppers, but the grocery store was out of both)
• 2 tablespoons of minced garlic
• 2 chicken breasts cooked and diced (I boil mine and them dice them)
• 4 red potatoes diced (you can peel them if you’d like, but I prefer to keep the skin on)
• 2 cups of frozen corn
• 9 slices of bacon, cooked and crumbled. (I meant to use 10, but I ate one, and 9 worked just fine)
•1/3 cup of flour
•¼ cup of butter
•5 cups of chicken broth
•Salt and pepper to taste
•2 cups of heavy cream
•¾ cup of shredded cheddar cheese
•½ tablespoon of paprika
•½ tablespoon of cumin
•1/8 cup of chipotle hot sauce
Directions:
•In a large pot add butter. Once melted saute onion, garlic, finger and bell peppers until tender (5-6 minutes)
•Stir in flour. Continue to stir until the raw flour is no longer visible
•Slowly stir in the chicken broth, paprika, cumin, salt and pepper and bring to a boil
•Once boiling, add potatoes and continue boiling until potatoes are tender and easily pierced with a fork. (About 20 minutes)
•Add heavy cream, chicken, bacon, corn, and chipotle sauce. Simmer for an additional 15-20 minutes. Add desired toppings, serve, and lick bowl clean (optional, but not really).
*Suggestions- If you like spicy I would add more than one finger pepper (or whatever pepper you choose) I had never used finger peppers and didn’t know how spicy they were so I only added one. We like a lot of spice, so next time I will another couple peppers.

2 thoughts on “Chipotle Chicken Chowder

Leave a Reply

