Skinny Skillet Unstuffed Peppers

skinny

Stuffed peppers are one of my favorite things to make when I wanna eat skinny. They’re so versatile. I’ve stuffed them with taco meat, buffalo chicken, sausage and veggies, and they’re all great. I had a bag full of peppers that I got from the farmers market last weekend and opened it up to get to work on making some stuffed peppers….until I cut a few peppers open and saw some bad spots that needed to be cut out. By the time I cut out the bad spots I didn’t have any peppers left that weren’t pointed on the ends.. So no peppers that would stand up for stuffed peppers. So I improvised.

I chopped up the peppers and decided to make it on the stove top. It still tasted fantastic, was much quicker because I didn’t have to bake it, used less dishes and was so much easier to eat! I may have accidentally stumbled upon a new way to make all my “stuffed” peppers.

IMG_1714

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb of extra lean ground turkey
  • 4 1/2 bell peppers, chopped. Combination of red, orange and yellow or whatever you prefer.
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 cup of brown rice
  • 2 tablespoons of minced garlic
  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil
  • 4-5 shakes of Worcestershire
  • 2 tablespoons cajun seasoning
  • 1 tablespoon mesquite spice
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/4 cup chicken broth
  • 1 cup of mozzarella
  • Green onions for garnish

Instructions:

  • Cook Brown rice according to package directions and set aside.
  • Saute onion, garlic and peppers in oil over medium heat until tender and fragrant.
  • Add in ground turkey and cook until it’s no longer pink.
  • Drain turkey and veggies and return to skillet.
  • Add worcestershire and seasonings and spices, chicken broth and rice.
  • Stir and simmer for 5 minutes.
  • Add cheese to top and wait until cheese it melted and it’s ready to garnish and be served! 🙂

IMG_1718

Elizabeth and Co.
4 thoughts on “Skinny Skillet Unstuffed Peppers

  1. This a great recipe. I have tweeted and shared it in Facebook. I really want to try this out with vegetarian meat substitute. This was definitely up my ally. I am so glad you posted this to the Be Inspired Link Party. Thanks

    Like

    • Thank you so much! I’m glad you think it looks tasty 🙂 Let me know how it turns out with a meat substitute! I’ll definitely be checking out your blog and pinning some things (especially the peach bread pudding, that looks delicious). Enjoy your day! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

